Buy tickets
RIGA | Great Guild Hall 18. January


This concert will be the first meeting of Sinfonietta Rīga and erudite Estonian conductor Olari Elts who has curated this contemporary composers' conversation with Wolfgang Amadeus. Hungarian Peter Eötvös' offers a modern and sophisticated play with thematic sketches by Mozart that creates a captivating, unpredictable dialogue between the past and the present. With a Mozartian ease Valentyn Sylvestrov is able to reveal what cannot be expressed in any other way and speak to us in the musical language from the past, conjuring poignant echoes and ghost-like apparitions from far away. The messenger in his composition's title refers to a literary character in existentialist philosopher Yakov Druskin's works, symbolizing the link between our world and the afterworld. Along with these contemporary revelries – a piano concerto and the magnificent Symphony No. 40 by the Viennese genius himself.



Irina Zahharenkova*, piano

Sinfonietta Rīga

Conductor Olari Elts



Peter Eötvös Da Capo for orchestra Dialog mit Mozart

Valentin Silvestrov The Messenger for synthesizer, piano and string orchestra

Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart Symphony No. 40 in G minor, K. 550

Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart Piano Concerto in D minor, K 466


*Due to illness of Diana Kettler, as the guest artist in the concert will take part estonian pianists Irina Zahharenkova.

Photo: ©Katrin Viil 

Buy tickets
W. A. Mozart - Symphony No. 41 "Jupiter"
F. Mendellsohn - Symphony No. 3
Linda Leimane - Guesstimations
R. Strauss - Oboe Concerto
We are playing