Buy tickets
COLOGNE | Kölner Philharmonie 10. March


Every performance of the world-renowned cellist Jean-Guihen Queyras is a masterclass in elegance. Already the first notes that the French musician elicits from his instrument with great drive, promise a deep dive into the musical piece, and the reveal of its very essence. No wonder - of all those who seek eternal truth and perfect clarity Queyras has chosen Pierre Boulez and Nikolaus Harnoncourt as the ones to look up to in regards of musical mastery. Queyras feels equally at home between the sound images of early music and contemporary precision. For the audiences in Cologne, the French virtuoso will perform the classic First Cello Concerto by Joseph Haydn, together with Sinfonietta Rīga and conductor Normunds Šnē. In the second part of the concert, the orchestra will once again revisit the musical heritage of Haydn, with his "London" Symphony, written at the height of his creative mastery.

With emotionally expressive musical phrasing Queyras will bring the listeners into composer Rolf Wallin's world of intuitive freedom and fractal algorithms. His opus "Ground" draws also from the patterns of baroque music. But first, in the opening of the concert, we will halt at the shores of the Baltic sea to enjoy the masterpiece of Estonian composer Erkki-Sven Tüür - the delicate composition for string orchestra "Lighthouse".



Erkki-Sven Tüür "Lighthouse"

Joseph Haydn Cello Concerto No. 1 in C major, Hob. VIIb/1

Rolf Wallin "Ground"

Joseph Haydn Symphony No. 98 in B♭ major, Hob. I/98




Jean-Guihen Queyras, cello

Sinfonietta Rīga

conductor Normunds Šnē

Buy tickets
W. A. Mozart - Symphony No. 41 "Jupiter"
F. Mendellsohn - Symphony No. 3
Linda Leimane - Guesstimations
R. Strauss - Oboe Concerto
We are playing