RIGA | Great Guild Hall 29. May


Praised by The Strad magazine as the star of the new century, violinist Alexander Sitkovetsky studied at the Yehudi Menuhin School for prodigious string instrument students, and has performed together with the legendary grand-master himself. In the season's closing programme we will hear Sitkovetsky's interpretation of the Violin Concerto by the acclaimed American composer John Adams. The elements of Adams' beloved minimalism surface also in the music of Magnus Lindberg. This Finnish contemporary genius has refined his sophisticated style of writing for orchestra as the resident composer of New York Philharmonic and London Symphony Orchestra. Along with the works of these contemporaries the audience will also be treated to a few classic gems from the treasure chests of the Bach dynasty.



Alexander Sitkovetsky, violin

Sinfonietta Rīga

Conductor Normunds Šnē



Johann Sebastian Bach Orchestral Suite No. 4 in D major, BWV 1069

Magnus Lindberg Aventures

Carl Philipp Emanuel Bach Symphony in D major, H 663, Wq 183/1

John Adams Violin Concerto


Photo: ©Vinci Ng

W. A. Mozart - Symphony No. 41 "Jupiter"
F. Mendellsohn - Symphony No. 3
Linda Leimane - Guesstimations
R. Strauss - Oboe Concerto
We are playing