Buy tickets
RIGA | Great Guild Hall 25. September


The anniversary season opening of chamber orchestra Sinfonietta Rīga will be celebrated in the company of geniuses. Leonard Bernstein's Serenade, after Plato's Symposium, will take us back to Agathon's banquet and the conversation about Eros - love. Normunds Šnē has entrusted the role of the dialogue's protagonist to Belgian violinist Marc Bouchkov, laureate of the prestigious Tchaikovsky Competition, renown for his sensual and graceful playing style, imbued with emotional warmth and intelligence. In this grand anniversary year of Ludwig van Beethoven, we will particularly celebrate his music, represented in this programme by the Fourth Symphony that Robert Schumann compared to a slender Greek maiden between two Norse giants - the Third and the Fifth Symphony. Its impassioned introduction is followed by beautifully stirring second movement and tempestuous finale. Along with it, the overture to King Stephen, in which striking dramatic chords continually interweave with playful dance steps. The listeners have no choice but to play catch-up with the rippling musical images that seem far ahead of their time.



Marc Bouchkov, violin

Sinfonietta Rīga

Conductor Normunds Šnē



Leonard Bernstein Serenade, after Plato's Symposium

Ludwig van Beethoven Overture to King Stephen,  Op. 117

Ludwig van Beethoven Symphony No. 4 in B-flat major, Op. 60


Photo: © Juan C. Roa

Buy tickets
W. A. Mozart - Symphony No. 41 "Jupiter"
F. Mendellsohn - Symphony No. 3
Linda Leimane - Guesstimations
R. Strauss - Oboe Concerto
We are playing