RIGA | Great Guild Hall 13. November


The brilliant Yevgeny Sudbin returns to Riga with the performance of Ludwig van Beethoven's First Piano Concerto. The Daily Telegraph writes of the pianist: "Sudbin's great quality is his acute sense of characterization, conveying not just the letter of the music through his consummate technique, but also its spirit through his intuition and inspiration."

In the salons of the Viennese court, the impassioned young man from Bonn received similar praises about his virtuosity on the piano; for the twenty-year-old Beethoven this was the land of opportunity. During this time, he composed his First Piano Concerto - bright and cheerful, it brings to mind the refined life of the Gallant era.

In turn, the youthful pulse of Joseph Haydn's Symphony No. 28, composed just 50 kilometers outside Vienna, in midst of the sloping vineyards of Eisenstadt, has a note of romantic anguish.

Along with these classic masterpieces, we will premiere the Second Symphony of Latvian composer Agneta Krilova, who has let her thoughts and feelings wander across the border spaces of the old and new world.



Yevgeny Sudbin, piano

Sinfonietta Rīga

Conductor Normunds Šnē



Ludwig van Beethoven Piano Concerto No. 1 in C major, Op. 15

Joseph Haydn Symphony No. 28 in A major, Hob. I/28

Agneta Krilova Symphony No. 2 for Chamber Orchestra Uz jauno pasauli (To the New World; premiere)


Photo: ©Nikolaj Lund

W. A. Mozart - Symphony No. 41 "Jupiter"
F. Mendellsohn - Symphony No. 3
Linda Leimane - Guesstimations
R. Strauss - Oboe Concerto
We are playing