Sinfonietta Rīga Wind Quintet

Sinfonietta Rīga Wind Quintet has been an excellent example of its genre in Latvia since 2007. In it play some of the most distinguished wind performers in Latvia: flutist Ilona Meija, oboist Pēteris Endzelis, clarinettist Guntis Kuzma, bassoonist Jānis Semjonovs and hornist Artūrs Šults.

The repertoire of the Sinfonietta Rīga Wind Quintet includes the works of composers from many different musical periods. The quintet has successfully participated in performances of contemporary composers in such projects as Rīgas Stāsti (Stories of Riga) and the New Music Festival, as well as gained praise for the educational programme Pastaiga Mūzikā (A Promenade in Music).

In 2013 the quintet delighted the audience in a concert in the Finnish city Luosto, where their performance was a part of an international music festival. In 2014 and 2015 the quintet offered its audience the concert programmes Muzikālā galerija (Musical Gallery), Latvieši nāk (The Latvians are Coming), and Eksotiskās dejas (Exotic Dances) with the saxophonist Arvīds Kazlausks. In October 2015 the quintet collaborated with the saxophonist Arvīds Kazlausks and the pianist Herta Hansena performing in a live translation on the Latvian Radio 1. The concert included compositions of different Latvian and French composers.

W. A. Mozart - Symphony No. 41 "Jupiter"
F. Mendellsohn - Symphony No. 3
Linda Leimane - Guesstimations
R. Strauss - Oboe Concerto
We are playing