The Sinfonietta Rīga Baroque Ensamble

One of the principal members of the Sinfonietta Rīga Baroque Ensemble is Normunds Šnē – the main conductor and artistic director of the Sinfonietta Rīga orchestra, who is also an excellent oboist, and one of the first musicians in Latvia to start exploring historically informed performance in the beginning of the 90s. At the harpsichord the audience can find both the distinguished and internationally popular Latvian harpsichordist Ieva Saliete, and the skilled continuo musician from Estonia Reinut Tepp, who is also the Kremerata Baltica keyboardist, and has had numerous successful collaborations with Latvian baroque enthusiasts.

One of the best Latvian bassoonists, the principal bassoon of both the Latvian National Symphony Orchestra and Sinfonietta Rīga Jānis Semjonovs also plays in the ensemble, while strings are represented by Agnese Kanniņa-Liepiņa, the principal second violin of Sinfonietta Rīga and the concertmaster of the Orchestra Collegium Musicum Rīga, and Jānis Stafeckis, the principal double-bassist of Sinfonietta Rīga and the director of the Rēzekne Chamber Orchestra.

The Sinfonietta Rīga Baroque Ensemble has been actively playing together since 2006 and has performed a number of different Baroque music programmes in several Latvian cities.

W. A. Mozart - Symphony No. 41 "Jupiter"
F. Mendellsohn - Symphony No. 3
Linda Leimane - Guesstimations
R. Strauss - Oboe Concerto
We are playing