Jānis Stafeckis

Jānis Stafeckis is the principal double bass of the Chamber Orchestra Sinfonietta Rīga ever since its founding in 2006. Shortly before, from 2002 to 2006, Jānis played in the orchestra Riga Chamber Players, as well as from 2004 to 2008 in the Latvian National Symphony Orchestra. Since 2012 Jānis is the conductor of the Rēzekne Chamber Orchestra.

In 2000 Stafeckis graduated from the Rēzekne Music Secondary School of Jānis Ivanovs, and in 2004 he obtained a Bachelor’s degree from the Jāzeps Vītols Latvian Academy of Music, followed by a Master’s degree in 2006. At the moment the musician has returned to the JVLAM to diligently study the art of conducting.

Jānis has improved his professional skills by attending master classes abroad: with Michael Wolf, the head of the double bass programme in the Berlin University of the Arts, and Panu Pärssinen of the Sibelius Academy as a part of the ERASMUS/SOCRATES programme. He polished his baroque mastery in EUBO Baroque music courses in Prague.

Jānis can frequently be seen in non-classical projects, playing in the ensembles Brokastis četratā, Tango sin Quinto and Positive Jazz Trio. He is also the orchestra librarian of the Sinfonietta Rīga.

W. A. Mozart - Symphony No. 41 "Jupiter"
F. Mendellsohn - Symphony No. 3
Linda Leimane - Guesstimations
R. Strauss - Oboe Concerto
We are playing