Agnese Kanniņa

Agnese Kanniņa studied in the Emīls Dārziņš Music School with Romāns Šnē. Studying in the Jāzeps Vītols Latvian Academy of Music, she obtained a Bachelor’s degree under Jānis Bulavs in 2001, and a Master’s degree in Baroque violin performance and Baroque orchestra performance in 2007. At the moment Agnese is the docent of the Department of Early Music in the Jāzeps Vītols Latvian Academy of Music.

She has participated in the baroque performance master classes of Françoise Malgoire, Erik Van Nevel, Lucy van Dael, Christoph Huntgeburth, Chiara Banchini and Elizabete Vilstrema. From 1995 to 1996 she worked in Orquesta sinfonica de Castilla y Leon in Spain, and she has also been a violinist of the Latvian National Opera and Ballet Orchestra.

She has twice been nominated for the Latvian Grand Music Award: for “Debut of the Year” with the Sinfonietta Rīga String Quintet in 2007 and for “Outstanding Work in an Ensemble” in 2008.

Since 2006 Agnese is the principal second violinof Sinfonietta Rīga, she also plays in the Sinfonietta Rīga String Quartet and works as the concertmaster of the Baroque Orchestra Collegium Musicum Rīga.

Agnese also fills the position of the orchestra inspector for Sinfonietta Rīga, organising the rehearsal process, and musical staff in concert programmes.

W. A. Mozart - Symphony No. 41 "Jupiter"
F. Mendellsohn - Symphony No. 3
Linda Leimane - Guesstimations
R. Strauss - Oboe Concerto
We are playing